Typical Sunday

Today is a perfectly typical Sunday. When I remember “back when I was 20,” I expect days like today to take precedence in my memory, just because of how completely ordinary they are.

I woke up with my cat asleep on my legs. I’d had good dreams that weren’t especially worth noting down (though sometimes my dreams are). I got started on homework and ate breakfast (a hotdog and chips). My family went out and got breakfast.

Since then, I’ve played Sims4, Betrayal at the House on the Hill with my mom and brother, and generally lazed about.

Now there’s a thunderstorm going on. I was playing Sims4 when Mama came in and wanted to know what part of Florida we’re in. I answered “central” and she explained there was a severe thunderstorm warning for East-Central Florida, and probably heading this way.

Sure enough, after we picked up the Betrayal game, the wind began blowing like mad. It even howled a couple times. My brother said, “That’s creepy.” Mom went out on the porch to watch, and I went out front to watch from the top of the stairs.

Eventually (after Mom checked whether the flowering tree was a dogwood, and My brother threw some shoes on, and Kitty hid under the couch because fear of loud booms of thunder, and Dad woke up and came to watch), all four of us were out front on the third floor. It’s an outdoor set of stairs, with a lake on one side and a tree on the other, and the wind blows through like crazy. My brother stood right in the middle, and huge gusts of wind and rainy air washed over him, so thick we could see the water in clouds drenching him.

I came back inside, and am currently on my bed, writing this up and watching the rain from my window. The others are coming back in and I can hear their voices. Mom gives lots of “uh-huh”s and “ahhh!”s, and my brother is telling her all sorts of stuff.

He has just come in and announced to me, “Kel! It’s wet out.” and then he disappeared into his room.

Yesterday was another good day—we started the game of Betrayal, then went to the mall, where Mom and I went to the Crayola Experience. It was lots of fun, and even she says she wants to go back. She thought the wrapping crayons with personalized names were brilliant. Her dad and brother would never have gotten a gift like that before ever! My brother and Dad were in the Dick’s Sporting Goods right nearby in the same mall. Then we ate at an Italian restaurant the boys had been wanting to go to for a while. Then, considering it was the Fourth of July, we headed to the same park as always for fireworks. We had some awesome fireworks. My favorites were the Carousal, which is a fountain that has a huge rain of white and bluish-purple sparks, and the really big fireworks that another group was setting off. One had five or six rockets going up at once in waves, and another was like a fifty-foot high fountain of white sparks.

Overall, I have had a very good weekend, and a very good, ordinary day. The storm is letting up, although by the roll of thunder just now, you might not believe it. It went on for a good thirty seconds and shook the apartment. Now I’m probably going to continue Sims and Betrayal or find something to eat because I’m hungry. Or maybe just curl up with Mom and watch House (she’s finished Orange is the New Black).

Leave a comment